Farmers Encouraged To Vote For Their Next IFA President

Voting to elect the 15th President of the Irish Farmers’ Association will get underway in IFA branches across the countryon Tuesday, Mar 29th) and conclude on Friday, April 15th. There are 947 branches in total.

IFA National Returning Officer Jer Bergin has encouraged farmers to attend the Association’s branch meetings in the 29 County Executives and vote for the positions of President and Deputy President.

Jer Bergin said the election is an opportunity for the 75,501 members who have a vote to decide who will lead them for the next four years.  He said, “The IFA election is unique as it allows every member the chance to hear what candidates are offering, and then they have a vote in the national contest. This year’s election will be run on one member one vote.  The final debate takes place in Offaly tomorrow night”.

Over 60 branches will vote tomorrow night. They include: Bere Island (West Cork), Valentia Island (Kerry), Churchill-Glenswilly (Donegal), Ballyragget (Kilkenny), Drumshanbo (Leitrim), Achill Island (Mayo), Strokestown (Roscommon) and Boolavogue (Wexford).

The full listing of all branch votes is available at

Henry Burns, Joe Healy and Flor McCarthy are running for the position of President.

Pat Farrell, Richard Kennedy and Nigel Renaghan are running for the position of Deputy President.

The National Count will take place in the Castleknock Hotel in Dublin on Tuesday, April 19th.  The next President of the Irish Farmers’ Association will take up office immediately and the AGM will be be held on Wed, April 27th in the Irish Farm Centre.

Comments are closed.