Three Candidates to Contest IFA Presidential Election

The IFA National Returning Officer Jer Bergin has confirmed that three nominations for the position of President of the Irish Farmers Association have been received by this evening’s deadline.


Henry Burns (Laois), Joe Healy (Galway), and Flor McCarthy (Kerry) will contest the election to be held in April.


Each of the candidates has the required number of nominations, which is their own County Executive and five other County Executives.


IFA Livestock Chairman Henry Burns has been nominated by Laois, Wexford, Kildare, Offaly, Kilkenny and Wicklow.


IFA Farm Business Galway rep Joe Healy has been nominated by Galway, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal.


IFA Rural Development Chairman Flor McCarthy has been nominated by Kerry, Clare, Waterford, Tipperary South, Louth and Meath.

Comments are closed.